top of page
Search
  • lucymenon

"Trust Me, I'm a Doctor" selected for latest @ChevalAnthology


Cheval 10 contains a selection of the best work submitted this year to the Terry Hetherington Award, which has become known as one of the most significant awards for young writers in Wales. What these pages add up to is a thrilling representation of where new Welsh writing is now. - Parthian Books

This is my first blog post, and I never dreamt I'd have this is as my subject matter! When I saw a poetry and short story competition that was for 18-30 year olds back in January, I thought I'd give it a final bash at being considered a "young writer" at the ripe old age of 29 and 10 months at the time. I had no idea that I'd be accepted into a publication that is regarded with such esteem. Having struggled with confidence about my creative writing abilities (an author's curse), to have been acknowledged in such a way is something truly incredible to me in all senses of the word. The award has been the springboard for many into a world of literary success and other creative outlets, so I feel privileged to be able to be reading my short story, "Trust Me, I'm a Doctor", at the Dylan Thomas Centre in Swansea on Friday 23rd June. Fingers crossed I'll be able to emulate the previous contributors in their endeavours, and hopefully one day you'll be able to say you remember reading about me at the beginning!

A copy of the book is available here

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page